A Greek, German and British consortium has won the 2023 Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for investigating the Adriana shipwreck, which left over 600 migrants dead off Pylos in Greece.

The work by the Greek investigative outlet Solomon, in collaboration with Forensis, the German public broadcaster StrgF/ARD, and the British newspaper The Guardian can be accessed here.

Congratulations to the laureates.

The Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for Journalism was endorsed by the European Parliament in October 2020, and it will be awarded on a yearly basis.  The Prize will distinguish outstanding journalism work based on the principles and values of the European Union.  It will be awarded to journalistic pieces on topics of interest resulting from in-depth journalism undertaken by professional journalists or teams of journalists. The award ceremony will take place every year around the 16th of October, as a symbolic reminder of the date when Daphne Caruana Galizia was assassinated.

Prize money of €20,000

The €20,000 annual prize will be awarded on October 2023 at the European Parliament of Strasbourg to journalists or teams of journalists based in the European Union. The winning article will be chosen by an independent jury.

Watch our Facebook live interview about the Daphne Caruana Galizia Journalism Prize.